A Very Rude White Man From HK


Hello World,

I had my medical exam today here in the city with other teachers. I have always wanted to take them somewhere here but due to financial reasons, our plans were always cancelled. It was for the first time that the  people at work  who are close to me are here with me in the city but I am broke, they are broke so we just ended up eating at the foodcourt.

Anyway, there is this white guy living in HK who showed his interest in me so I thought he would be nice or be a gentleman at least. I am only looking for friends here online and even offline but maybe it pissed him off. He messaged me ” I can’t believe you’re  f—king stupid, you write f—king stupid things”. Ouch! I was surprised. I haven’t received a very rude message before but that’s life. Not everyone is friendly. I was surprised because he clicked the “admirer’s button” yet his message was very rude. On the other hand, I got a message from someone in Shenzhen giving me compliments as a person. I know he was just trying to flatter me (boys!) but  I still  thanked him for his kind words and told him about that message I got from HK. I was actually affected by the message that’s why I shared it to that stranger from Shenzhen to at least release the bad feelings and the feeling of being inferior. Glad that I was able to receive a positive response from that new friend.

He simply said:

“That guy’s stupid comments reminds me of the lyrics of a Wilco song called What Light:”

If you feel like singing a song
And you want other people to sing along
Just sing what you feel
Don’t let anyone say it’s wrong

And if you’re trying to paint a picture
But you’re not sure which colors belong
Just paint what you see
Don’t let anyone say it’s wrong

And if you’re strung out like a kite
Or stung awake in the night
It’s alright to be frightened

When there’s a light (what light)
There’s a light (one light)
There’s a light (white light)
Inside of you…

So, I am sharing that song to you in case there are other people around you who did the same. We can’t please everyone no matter how nice you are to them. Some people may appreciate what you have done, but there are other who criticize it. Don’t let it pull you down and always remember that without this kind of  people, life has no challenge at all. As long as you are not stepping someone’s toes, continue what you love to do.

Thank you for Reading

Leave a Reply

