Vietnam – The Meatball Soup


Hey just want to share another story before starting my day.

I decided to spend my night alone than hanging out with my roommates who just like to play with their gadgets. I went to a salon to have a haircut. Oh! I felt the essence of a woman sitting on a chair in the salon. For 3 yrs, I just cut my own hair or I let my mother cut it to save money.

Image

And unlike other women, I can only count the times I’ve been to salon with my 5 fingers. It is not that I don’t like it but it is because my long curly hair costs a lot or costs more than my plane tickets 🙂

Image

Anyway, I had it straightened while that gorgeous lady beside had her permed.

Image

I spolied myself on that night.

Image

After, I enjoyed walking Bui Vien St. smiling to some people. But oh! I saw Tom, the Dutch with his bottle of beer checking out a clothes shop. I was so quick in turning around and walked back but he was following me. I didn’t want to hang out with someone on that night so I walked fast and he didn’t recognize me even I was so close to him because of my new straight hair 😀 .

Anyway again, here’s the story of the meatball soup. Because I was avoiding the Dutch, I went to the other street where I saw a restaurant filled with people having hot soup. There were many people so it must be good. I checked it out and I love hot soup so I decided to take my dinner there. There was only one table left so I sat there. I noticed some eyes looking at me. I was curious why. I was thinking it must because of my hair? (the feeling of having a brand new hair) or I must look weird for them? Or they must be trying to guess my nationality. Oh yeah, I look very Filipina but some people don’t think I am as they said, it is rare for a Filipina to be travelling alone.

Image

I was playing with my shitty cam as usual and caught some eyes watching me as I was trying to take a good photo of myself.

Image

A child said “Daddy, she needs help” :D. The father then stood up and said “Do you want me to take you a photo?” :p Of course I said “yes”.

Image

The meatball soup must be ready to eat already and there were leaves on the plate and sliced chilli. In distance, I tried to observe what to do with the leaves by looking at other bowls from my table. I saw the green thing in their soup so I had the idea that the leaves should be in the soup. Hmmm with a feminine move, I put them all in my soup once and captured that moment 😀 . The smell was inviting and my tummy was excited. I put the sliced chilli as well.

Image

While having my soup, I again caught some eyes watching me eat. It is not that I am too conscious but you can tell that there is something in those eyes. When my tummy enjoyed half of my soup, there was this Caucasian guy who shared my table. He was about 27 I think. I usually talk and smile to other travellers but I was pretending I was busy with my soup because he looked at me as if he was teasing me about something or something was funny. I asked myself, what have I done again? Do I look funny with my new hair? There is nothing funny with having a meatball soup. Began to feel awkward as he was just looking at me while waiting for his order. I pretended I was busy eating but was really annoyed. Then, he picked up those sliced chilli and ate them and looked at my soup. I then had an idea that he must be trying to tell me that chilli should not be in the soup…who cares? This is my style of soup. I was done with my soup when his soup was served but of course, I had pride that I didn’t stand up right away. I got my lipstick and mirror and was doing the retouch in front of him but of course I didn’t look at him. But he was smiling while he picked those leaves from the other plate. He was looking at me as he put each leaf in his soup and looked at my bowl. I could feel my cheeks were turning red, oh yeah I tried to ignore but I knew my cheeks were red on that moment. His eyes were telling me “hey miss, this is how you do it”. I was embarrassed and realized I was stupid for putting the whole bunch of leaves in my soup. I told myself, “oh well, I was in a hurry and had no time to do it that way”. I just thought the stem is included. But still it didn’t comfort me from being embarrassed because I also realized why people looked at me when I put those leaves in my soup. Well, in the Philippines, we put sometimes the whole “sangig” in the soup so I thought they were the same. I called the waiter for my bill and I was asked where I came from. I thought of lying at first but I just simply said I’m from the Philippines.

Then the other one commented “ I don’t see many Filipinas here, are you working here?”

“ No, I’m on a short trip”, I replied.

The short conversation started after those “long staring moments”.

 Another man from the other table said, “It must be your first time here”.

“Yes” I said and this man in front of me said “ no wonder why you put all the leaves in your soup” :p I had no reaction to his statement and just gave him a sarcastic smile as I left the place.

Image

. I walked so fast and fast and when I was far enough, I laughed at myself and bought nice hair clips to forget that embarrassment.

My night didn’t end here yet… something happened after but that will be on my next post.

 

Thanks for reading.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Vietnam -The Black Coffee « Shaineys Petite World

Leave a Reply

